Palace of Saints Michael and George

Palace of Saints Michael and George is the most important monument in Corfu Island from the period of British administration. Its construction started in 1819 and completed in 1823 by Sir George Whitmore. It's a unique archaeological building of Georgian technotropy in the Mediterranean, built of Maltese stone, is standing at the northern end of Spianada square.

It was used as residence by British high commissioners. It also served as headquarters for the order of Saints Michael and George, whence it derived its name. This is where members of parliament of the Ionian Islands voted for union with Greece (1864). From 1864 and until 1913 it was used as the summer palace of the Greek royal family. The building was renovated and opened in 1978 as a museum.

Today it is hosting the Museum of Asiatic Art and the Municipal Gallery.

The whole building is rich in pictorial décor. The main entrance which looks towards the square is fronted by a colonnade in Doric style. The central part of the palace is decorated with anaglyphs of Corfiot sculptor Prosalenis. The east wing contains art galleries with permanent and temporary exhibitions, and a coffee bar. On the upper part of the building there are the symbols of the Ionian islands and Kerkyra is represented as a ship.

In the grounds of the building there is a statue of the British High Commissioner Adams, during whose term of office the town\’s water supply system was brought to completion. This was also a work of Porsalentis.  It has three main halls, where in 1994 hosted the European Leaders Summit Conference.

Source: http://www.corfuonline.gr